Summer is coming: Cooling my PC

Suddenly, I found that my CPU run between 60 °C to 80 °C, which is quite high. I noticed this because the CPU fan was becoming really noisy and, of course, annoying. I used several software to watch the CPU and motherboard temperatures, including SpeedFan, Core Temp and PC Probe II for Asus motherboard.

I would strongly recommend SpeedFan if you want to monitor your system temperatures. It’s really powerful yet small and easy to use, as you can see below all the temperatures and fan speeds it displayed.

My PC configuration is
CPU: Intel E6300 1.8GHz
Motherboard: Asus P5B Deluxe with Wifi AP
Memory: 3 x 1G Corsair 6400

Here are two pictures of temperatures when CPU is idle and full.

From Cooling project
From Cooling project

A lot of dust was on the stock Intel CPU fan. And one of the hard drivers was also hot. So I bought this Freezer 7 Pro and a 5.25 in. hard drive cooler from newegg. The hard drive cooler is very good in that it can mount my 3.5 in. hard drive to the empty 5.25 slots, since I already got several hard drives crowded at the 3.5 in. slots. The installation for the new CPU fan was easy. But this cheap hard drive cooler took me more than an hour to properly install it. It just didn’t fit well in the slot.

From Cooling project
From Cooling project
From Cooling project
From Cooling project

So, what is the temperatures now?
CPU idle, fan in full speed

From Cooling project

CPU full, fan in full speed

From Cooling project

The summer is going to be cool! See here for more pictures.

Leave a Reply

